February Recap

13 Mar

Right now I’m staring at a pile of checks, amounting to a little over $9,000, that needs a home beyond my desk.

That sounds more exciting than it is.

Really, it’s the accumulation of a couple months in revenue and I’m really bad about getting to the bank.

Still, I’d like to think that one day that, and more, will be my regular monthly deposit.

Notice that I’m nearly two weeks late in getting this out? I needed emotional distance from certain aspects of February before I could write about any of it. 

The biggest business highlight last month was doing a four-week incubator/mastermind group. Last year I wrote down a goal to participate in Marie Forleo’s adventure mastermind within the next three years.

The opportunity to do a local mastermind through an amazing networking group of female entrepreneurs here in Hawaii, called Social Wahines, fell into my lap, and I decided to jump on it. While I can’t get too specific about the ideas/products/businesses/and personal goals that were incubated, I’ll just say anyone who is able to join a well matched mastermind group, should. Incredible.

Secondly, I made goals to recruit a creative type and a bookkeeper to our team for socialKINE (my social media management business). Many new business owners struggle with when to hire. While we’re still a young company, I’m confident that:

less money now (due to paychecks) = more time for brilliance = a greater payoff in the end

The final professional highlight in February was being coached by Ruth Zive. I’m a huge believer in working with the best while you develop your own expertise and niche, and my experience with Ruth was a testimonial to that theory. Her suggestions for moving forward were worth every penny.

So you see? February was chugging along…just fine…until the very end…when any focus for business (or anything at all) was train wrecked. Let’s just say, a huge chunk of unexpected white space suddenly filled my life. Le sigh. Had one of those weeks (ahem, or longer) where I had Eat, Pray, Love playing on a loop. In fact, I may have had a couple of these moments:

(and, this)

There is a part in the book and at the end of the movie where Elizabeth Gilbert says:

“Some people come into your life to reveal another layer of yourself to you…they break your heart open so new light can get in…

…In the end, I’ve come to believe in something I call The Physics of the Quest. A force in nature governed by laws as real as the laws of gravity.

The rule of Quest Physics goes something like this: If you’re brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting, which can be anything from your house to bitter, old resentments, and set out on a truth-seeking journey, either externally or internally, and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher and if you are prepared, most of all, to face and forgive some very difficult realities about yourself, then the truth will not be withheld from you.”

I took the opportunity of the unexpected to clean out my life a little: had some important honesty talks, opened a few doors, closed a few doors, deleted a million voicemails, and allowed God to sort out some critical details for me. In the end, I’m counting on it to all turn out just fine. I’m at least 77 percent sure that it will.

March revolves around finishing my thesis and closing a chapter. I’ll have income from ongoing projects, but I literally couldn’t care less about finances for the next couple months. I’ll be finishing my master’s degree, packing up my life, traveling during April (stay tuned…), and am settling somewhere new (yet, old) for the summer. There’s a story there; I’ll tell it later.

In the meantime, let us all carry on.

One Response to “February Recap”

  1. Chas March 20, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Thank you for the update. It is definitely the time of year for change and renewal. I look forward to hearing the story(s). Thanks for the message about vacuums and the Universe stepping in to fill them.

Leave a Reply

