January Recap and Lessons Learned

6 Feb

First, let’s address my new content strategy for Startup Freelancer.

I see that I’m actually getting visitors here, which is somewhat surprising considering that I haven’t marketed this blog at all (aside from posting new article links on Twitter). From here on out, look for my monthly recap and a couple mid-month thoughts or two.

Now, onto January.

I know I’ve said things like this in the past, but I continue to feel very…blessed. Since starting my freelance career, I’ve not had to worry a single day about meeting my expenses. And, personally, it’s amazing how many other pieces of my life have fallen into place.

I believe this comes down to a “path” issue. When you’re on the correct path, meaning your correct path, things just seem to flow.

For several years I knew that I needed to dip my toes into the freelance waters (*again), but was afraid of the slow start up and transition to actually making money. I didn’t expect the, literal, overnight success that came in the form of two, unsolicited high-paying assignments the morning after I finally declared I was ready. Basically, things have been progressively more and more great amazing ever since.

Professionally, January was awesome. My social media company, socialKINE is consistently growing and took on a new, large client at the beginning of the year. All signs are pointing toward a profitable 2012. I also whipped TaraZirker.com into presentable shape. Eventually, I’ll need more design work there, but for now it serves as a nice little resume site.

I also:

Billed out close to $4,500, all from repeat clients and within a reduced work schedule.

Took on my first $100 per hour assignment (not a huge one, but still an amazing feeling).

Established my 2012 goals.

Started running (*again).

Opened my heart more.

Basically, my story follows the same trajectory of every other Personal-Fulfillment/I-Can’t-Believe-How-Rockin’-Life-Is story you read online:

You commit to your path, you experience the first stages of success, you establish new habits, you start listening to your body (and are promptly informed that you’ve been a lazy slug all these years and need to consume more spinach and start running…immediately), you wake up earlier because you can’t wait to work, you write, you go on mid-day walks and receive your daily download of inspiration and direction, you create, and you’re in awe of all that life has to offer, etc., etc.

I’m a textbook case.

January Lessons

First, it’s okay to let go of control. In fact, it is preferable. Hence, my company is hiring a part-time employee, I’m allowing others to assist me more (see the next point), and I’m letting certain things just be and see what organically develops.

Second, it’s time to get these finances in order. I’m in the market for a bookkeeper because, though I’ve always done my own taxes (worst year: something like four or five W-2s and a few 1099s), I’m starting to worry that I may not be skilled enough to cover all my bases from here on out.

Finally, I’m sending it out there…more. I know, sorry folks for being a little woo-woo for a second. I’m just constantly amazed that what I feel inspired to ask for usually happens or appears within the day.

2012 goals:

Goals are a very big deal to me. Mostly because, at this point in my life, I try to avoid over-committing myself to too many of them.

That may sound weird, but it’s progressively more important to me to keep my life simple and allow ample space for the commitments and people I value most.

In other words, if I don’t LOVE or BELIEVE IN it, I’m not buying/doing/committing to it. I’ll write more about this mid-month.

In a nutshell, this year I plan to:

•Love •Make $$ (I have specific goals, but for a future post) •Be active •Finish my Master’s degree •Start something I’ve been meaning to start for a few years •Go to Nepal •Take November and December off (maybe..hopefully) •Decide on my next big moves

Here’s wishing everyone a successful February!

2 Responses to “January Recap and Lessons Learned”

  1. Carol Tice - Writer February 6, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Thanks for the mention, Tara — and congrats on getting a great-paying gig.

    • Startup Freelancer February 7, 2012 at 6:28 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Carol!

Leave a Reply

