My First Report: Successes Since July 19

10 Nov

I finally updated my spreadsheet where I track  assigned projects, queries and goals.

A little historical recap. In April I officially quit my job (with the intention and invitation to return) in order to visit friends and family on the mainland for a couple months.

Now, this job was ideal for graduate school; I worked two or three days a week and had plenty of time to study. It was not, however, ideal for pursuing my goals and developing personally or professionally.

I wanted needed a change.

Returning to Hawaii in June, I decided to embark on an experiment. My ultimate goal is to establish myself as as highly successful, professional writer. Instead of going back to work, and with just a little extra pocket change to tide me over, I chose to conduct a 90-day freelance experiment.

The rules were simple. If I made money, I would continue. If not, back to the drawing board. Failure was not allowed.

The morning after I made this decision, I had $2,100 in projects come in.

Talk about manifesting.

This morning, as I analyzed the last few months, I was pleased to see my success in numbers. Ready for the run down?

Queries: Part of my experiment included sending a query a day for 90 days. I stopped querying after two weeks. Despite knowing that focusing purely on work and losing momentum on marketing can create desperate dry spells, I had assignments coming in and graduate papers due. Necessity mandated work only, and marketing fell to the side.

Total queries sent: 15 (letters of introduction: 10, actual queries: 5)

Assignments: I was shocked that my initial efforts yielded such quality work assignments.

Total assignments received: 14

Closer analysis reveals that those 14 projects came from six clients with repeat projects at all but one publication. Cool.

Total Hours & Total Cash: These are the numbers I’m especially interested in. I worked a total of 234 hours since July 19, which comes to 14 hours a week (perfect with my school schedule), and includes marketing hours. My peak earnings were $66/hour and the least I earned was on one project at $20/hour. My average was $40/hour for a total of $8,994.  For an initial, part-time effort, I’m pleased.

The Verdict: Success! I’ll continue.

Some Evidence: 

See published articles here and here.

And the business I started: socialKINE

Goals Moving Forward: Since I’ve decided to take most of this month off to finish up coursework, I’m approaching my next three months with the following goals:

  • Three “Marketing Blitz” sessions (more on these later)
  • New and significant assignments from each of my previous six clients
  • Launch my two new projects (already in the works)
  • 2-4 new clients
I feel so blessed to have started down my path. I don’t know where it will lead, but I have a very good feeling about the future.
6 Responses to “My First Report: Successes Since July 19”

  1. Mark Young November 10, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Congrats on your success and keep it up! I will be checking back to see your updates.

    • Startup Freelancer November 15, 2011 at 7:21 am #

      Mark, thank you and please keep checking in!

  2. Chas November 14, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Thanks for sharing. I remember a very beautiful guitar made from Koa. Nice articles.

    • Startup Freelancer November 15, 2011 at 7:21 am #

      Hi Chas, I love koa wood! I’m also very interested in monkeypod after writing about it, seems much more sustainable.

  3. John Varghese November 14, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Congrats Tara!

    How do you identify potential clients to send queries to? What do you write to them?

    • Startup Freelancer November 15, 2011 at 7:20 am #

      Aloha John, thanks for the comment! So far I’ve been working with mid-sized trade and regional publications. I just contact those who catch my interest. I’ll write a longer post on this soon.

Leave a Reply

