What Happens to Work When Company Arrives to Hawaii

23 Aug

Last week I had company in town.

Living in Hawaii poses some unique challenges when visitors come to town. My friends and I have often discussed this conundrum:  how to fit your guests’ tropical vacation expectations into your normal life. You, of course, want to play too, but you still have to balance the regular day-to-day. 

While Waikiki could entertain for entire trips, it’s not really a good representation of the island. The inner hostess eventually demands that work cease for a day or two so that guests get a real Hawaii tour–the kind that includes stopping by the best shave ice shacks, walking the cozier beaches, and spotting every honu possible.

Regardless, I have a lot of work (not complaining!), and something had to give. The blog and queries went out the window last week. And I won’t lie, I had to sneak in interviews and other calls between beaches. 

When all is said and done, more work came in (I am now at my max for the month), deadlines were met (of course!), and everyone left a few shades darker and couple pounds heavier.

Mission accomplished. 

One Response to “What Happens to Work When Company Arrives to Hawaii”

  1. Chas August 24, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Well,
    I must admit, I never spotted a honu when I lived there, but, watched the schools of dolphins frolicking, often and did see a Moray eel slithering through the coral.
    Sometimes the luau must rank at the top of the Agenda. Mahalo :-)

Leave a Reply

