Yesterday Rocked My World

11 Aug

I’m doing the happy dance today.

A couple of weeks ago a friend introduced me to another writer and gave us a great business idea. A long story short, it didn’t take long before we were throwing ideas across our little Starbucks table and forming a partnership for a new set of communication services that we want to offer.  

Our simple startup has a simple price, about $500. While I’m totally behind the idea, I didn’t want to siphon cash from my savings or other funds (I’m a stickler for that kind of thing.). Surely, I reasoned with the universe on my drive home yesterday, if this is meant to happen, I can be creative about finding the funding. 

Fast forward two hours. Literally. 

One of the editor’s from my $2,100 day emailed and asked me to develop an additional side-bar for $250, another magazine that I sent a letter of intro (LOI) to called and asked me to take on a very last minute $500 project, and very shortly after that (I’m not joking) another editor from another magazine that I contacted a few weeks ago (again, love that LOI approach) called and asked if I’d like to do a little $100 write-up on worms. (Worms? Ya, I write about sustainability issues.)

As a matter of fact, I told them all, I would love to take on your projects. 

Best of all, I’m sure I’ll turn the two new editors into repeat customers. Regular clients #5 and 6. 

Now, the rub. Do I send more queries or just bust out the work I need to start and finish?

Grateful is becoming a weak word. Like, I’m so grateful I took this leap. Like, I’m so grateful for a steady string of work that is proving that this really is where I’m supposed to be right now. Like, I really need a stronger word. 

2 Responses to “Yesterday Rocked My World”

  1. Vishnu August 11, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Congratulations. Interesting how you’re progressing and keeping your readers informed which can be an inspiration for others.

  2. Chas August 16, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Do two words count? I guess if you were to put a hyphen in it, it could be seen as one word; but, what comes to my mind, is Awe-inspiring. Thank you for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

